MGCA Course of the Year Award

The Michigan Golf Course Association’s Golf Course of the Year will be presented at the Michigan Golf Business 2023 Conference and Vendor Fair.

The winner of this prestigious award will also be submitted to contend for the Golf Course of the Year Award nationally through the National Golf Course Owners Association.

The Course of the Year Award winner comes from MGCA’s membership and makes an outstanding contribution to the game of golf in their markets as well as being a model operation to their peers.

The Course of the Year Award honors a member demonstrating four criteria:

  • Unique characteristics of your golf course.
  • Exceptional ownership and management: What makes your golf operation stand out?
  • Outstanding contribution to the community in which it does business.
  • Contribution to the game.
Nomination Process
  • Candidates for Course of the Year are nominated by a MGCA member (course or corporate) by emailing Jada Paisley the course name. 
  • Courses that were previously nominated are automatically put forward for the current year, if they didn't win.
  • MGCA will then reach out to the course nominee to let them know of their nomination and will forward the application.
  • The course can submit the completed application in hard copy or electronically in either a .doc or .pdf format.

Deadline to nominate: August 11, 2023.

Deadline for course to complete MGCA Course of the Year Application: September 8, 2023

For courses nominated, submit your application electronically below. A Word doc is included if you wish to work on your application offline.

2022 Michigan Golf Course of the Year

2022 MGCA Course of the Year

The popular mid-Michigan public venue opened in 1996 after the late Michigan Golf Hall of Fame architect Jerry Matthews designed a new 18 holes on the property that included the site of a previous nine-hole private facility, and it has been ranked and regarded among the state’s top courses for public play since.

Read Press Release
 Past Course of the Year Winners
 Year   Award Winner
 2022   The Emerald Golf Course, St. Johns 
 2021   Sweetgrass Golf Club 
 2020  Stoatin Brae, Gull Lake View 
 2019   Detroit Golf Club 
 2018   The Heather, Boyne 
 2017   The Majestic at Lake Walden  
 2016   Belvedere Golf Course 
 2015    Forest Dunes 
 2014   The Legend at Shanty Creek, Bellaire 
 2013   Sycamore Hills Golf Club, Macomb 
 2012   Grand Traverse Resort, Traverse City 
 2011   Scott Lake Country Club, Comstock Park 
 2010   Gull Lake View Resort, Augusta 
 2009   Crystal Mountain Resort, Thompsonville 
 2008   Oakland Hills Country Club, Bloomfield Hills 
 2007   Boyne Resorts, Boyne 
 2006   Eagle Eye Golf Course, Bath 
 2005   Treetops, Gaylord 
 2004   Timberstone Golf Course, Iron Mountain 
 2003  Fox Hills Golf and Banquet Center, Plymouth 

Follow Us


Michigan Golf Course Association - MGCA
East Lansing, MI

1005 Abbot Road, Suite A
East Lansing, MI 48823

P: 517-482-4312
F: 517-267-8984

Call Us



 ngcoa logo

 sbam logo